New Year and New Crafts

I wanted to start off the year with some creativity. I was sick all of winter break and I wanted to get back to using my brain again. In the middle of some present making, I had the time to make a couple of items. The first was a gratitude jar. I’ve seen these popping up on Pinterest and Facebook, so I thought I’d make one of my own. The premise is that every day (or whenever) when something good happens or something makes you happy you write it on a slip of paper and put it in the jar. At the end of the year, you open it up and read about what an awesome year you had!

10409564_10203439422201496_7089937805555287768_nI decorated mine fairly simply, with metallic Sharpie markers and a bit of yarn. I’m into this turquoise-y color right now so I wanted to find a way to incorporate it, so I used the yarn and the paper to bring it in with the gold and silver of the markers.

My next order of business was to make a new wreath for my office door. I’ve been making them throughout the year for each season/holiday and now that Christmas is over but it still feels too early for Valentine’s Day, I thought I’d make an interim one that could be used at any time of year if I wanted to sub it in. image1IMG_1213IMG_1214

I’ve got more to make this week, so more pictures will be posted soon!

-Caitlin

Leave a Reply

